Fallacy.

The below statement is true.

The above statement is false.

Insomnia.

In the last 4 days I have slept for a total of 6 hours.  Yet I still seem to be functioning pretty fine.  Although, I have noticed a change in my attention span.  i just spent ten minutes staring at this tiny imperfection on the carpet in this room…

Eating.

The Japanese eat very little fat, they live longer and suffer fewer heart attacks than Americans, or the British.

The French eat more fatty foods, and still live longer, and suffer fewer heart attacks than americans.

The Chinese drink very little red wine, and they live longer than, and suffer fewer heart attacks than either the Americans or the British.

The Italians drink alot of red wine, and yet they too live longer, and suffer fewer heart attacks than Americans and the British.

The Germans eat lots of fatty foods, and drink lots of beer, and even they live longer, and suffer fewer heart attacks than Americans or the British.

The moral of this story: Eat and drink whatever you want… it’s speaking English that kills you.

-stolen from my friend Bryan Parker.

Connect the Dots.

Why do we struggle so hard to analyze or connect things?  What if the dots were nothing more than dots?  What if there is no big picture?  Say you move form step one to step two and so on, then in the end you look back at it all and you realize you have made nothing.

Atrophy

I have found myself lodged in a doorway and cannot seem to convince my feet that the ground outside is safe.  The burdens of my past, and even the greatest joy of my past, are no longer weighing down my ankles.  My legs can move, but I am having such a hard time.  I would love to have a push from someone, but I have learned not to rely on such lucky breaks.  I look out the doorway into the beautiful wild.  I am not quite ready to dive into it… at least not yet.  However, between the door and the wild I see a rest area.  She is seated there.  Through the doorway, I can see her–a wonderful new opportunity.  But, I am scared to step toward her.  I am uneasy with taking such a chance.  Am I ready to leave the door?  My mind is saying yes but my body disagrees.  Am I ready to meet her, in the breathing room before both of us plummit into the wild?  I am ready, but I cannot seem to move.  I have been complacent for far too long.  My legs have atrophied.  I must regain my strength, but that rest does sound appealling.

Substance.

My substance is lost somewhere between the what-if and the what-is.

Series of Blind Moments.

The average female blinks more than the average male, now I’m not trying to sound sexist in any way, but I just wish to propose this question: Does this mean that females, visually speaking, miss out on more time in a life than men do?  To clarify, say you have two people.  Both are born at the same time of same day of the same year, one male and one female.  They both go on to live their lives and then both die (out of sheer coincidence) at the same exact time of the same day in the same year.  The male should have taken in a lot more in that life visually than the female, because the female spent so much more time with her eyes shut.  Not that a single blink is significant at all, but eventually, in regards to time, they could add up to a massive portion of life that has been wasted in a series of blind moments

Myth.

“The myth of the man-god that dies and is ressurected, appears in nearly every culture” –Brockett.

This came from a theatre history textbook, and while in context the quote makes a great deal of since in regards to the history of theatre this statement on its own raises so many more questions.  There are so many comparisons between Judeo-Christian mythology/ideology and the ancient Greek/Roman/Egyptian mytholgies/ideolies, as well as the mythology and ideology of many other ancient cultures.  Some, would say that these similiarities futher proves the existence of truth in these mythologies, while I bring up another point.

In regards to the theory of evolution all of mankind comes from Africa (proven by the findings of fossil remains).  That means we all come from the same place and then spread like a plague over the earth, and along the way we experienced many things. But perhaps, the reason why so many cultures have similiar stories being told in so many variations, is perhaps they all stem from one experience, but due to a lack of written language for many years these tales were told through word of mouth , and as peoples moved on and apart, and new problems arose to the people, these stories began to change or to modify, so they would make sense for that group of people.

This explains why every early civilization has a man-god that sacrifices himself and comes back to life (Jesus, Hercules… to name just a few).  This explains the striking similarites between the birth of the prophet Jesus, and the Greek god Dionysus (Both born to a virgin mother and the father is the most powerful being, ei. Yahweh or Zeus, both seeking to establish their power by making people believe, both had a way of seducing wild women, and also seducing, in a sense, men).

Perhaps there is no God, and just back when people were indigenous travelors moving across Africa in search of greener pastures, perhaps they created the idea of God(s) to explain the hardships, and why these horrible things happened.  Every culture has there own very different sense of right and wrong, but there are some of the moral views that appear universal. Perhaps, these moral views are universal because these were the first to be established, back during the first days of humankind, back before people began to spread everywhere. Perhaps, the idea that killing another human is wrong, which is a belief in almost every culture, isn’t a natural thing, but instead a part of every culture since the first culture (from which all others spawned), probably based on one person killing another and then shortly afterward something terribly bad happened to the killer.  Say this happened a couple of times, a simple mind could slowly begin to imagine, “Hey, he killed that guy, then this bad thing happened to him shortly afterward.  Maybe that’s his punishment for killing the other person.”  God is created here when trying to explain why the killer had died and thus giving a justification.  But perhaps it was just something that happened, and a sheer conincidence that that killer die at that time.  Some would say that to call this all a coincidence is to belittle it and make it seem so insignificant, when in truth calling it a coincidence makes a lot more sense than that, because coincidences occur everyday whereas God does not occur everyday.

Wander.

Sometimes as my mind wanders aimlessly through the devastatingly dark corridors of my feeble self, I find I am astonished and amazed at how complex one person can be.  How many intriquette little details there are within.  How much I find myself thirsting for more.  Even down to how much or how little I feel.  How often I feel that I have yet to live–to truly live.  Yes, I know that I am alive, but I still findind hard to believe that I have lived.  I have not experienced the experiences of an experienced life and I so desperately long for that satisfaction.